Doorflamin pineapplesurf

I had been meaning to visit the Flamin’ Pineapple in Moselle since the Hattiesburg American did an article about it many moons ago.  When it was featured in Mississippi Magazine this month, I knew I had to get on over there.  The place has a laid back oasis feel with charming open air seating that feels cool even when it’s hot and humid outside.  The drive is short enough to be convenient, but far enough to feel like you’ve gone somewhere.  The menu includes steak and grilled and fried seafood.  There’s a good selection of fish (not just the usual suspects) and also some offerings for the adventurous, including kangaroo and buffalo.  I had the (beef) steak and shrimp and my husband had the Swamp Platter with fried catfish, alligator, frog legs, and crawfish pie.  My steak was not the best cut I’ve come across, but it was very flavorful, and I enjoyed it as well as the grilled shimp.  The fried seafood was all lightly battered and cooked perfectly and the sour cream based potato salad was very good.  Portions are large, and we did not save room for dessert, but we’ll know better next time.  I want to try the featured dessert, none other than the Flamin’ Pineapple with grilled pineapple, ice cream and other goodies.  I’ll definitely be going back.  It’s a great place to bring the family or to go on date night.  Hours are Thursday-Saturday 4:30-10:00.  The Flamin’ Pineapple is located at 3315 Highway 11 in Moselle.

Flamin' Pineapple on Urbanspoon

