Go there.  .  .  . now!

Mama Alma’s Kitchen is located at 5096 Highway 42, Hattiesburg, MS 39401

Mama Alma's Kitchen on Urbanspoon

Oh, you wanted more information?  How about these?

Ok, seriously.   If you thought Hattiesburg didn’t need another Mexican place, you were wrong.  Some of you may know Mama Alma by her wonderful tamales and salsas that were available last season at the Pine Belt Farmers and Artisans Market (which, by the way, starts back in a couple of weeks).  And, yes, her tamales are great, but her new place Mama Alma’s Kitchen has whole menu of great stuff.

The menu includes all the offerings you would expect, but also has some more traditional Mexican dishes that are sure to become your new favorites.   In addition to the regular menu, there’s also a lunch menu available from 10am-2pm. I had the Mexican Lunch which includes a taco, a burrito, an enchilada, and a tostada all for less than $6.  It was much more food than I could eat, but it allowed me to try all the staples.  I also tried the guacamole and the horchata.  You can get the Mexican Lunch with pork, beef, or chicken.  I chose pork and found it tender and flavorful, yet not too spicy.   The red sauce was just right.  The guacamole was fresh and the horchata (a creamy spiced rice drink) was unexpectedly refreshing.

I really can’t wait to go back and try some of the other things on the menu.  Next time I’m getting the Pozole, a hominy soup, or maybe the green enchiladas, hmmm.  There are also a number of vegetarian dishes I want to try.   And the desserts. . .  looks like I’ll be dining there a lot.   You should too.

